Waiting on Wednesday: 04/27/22

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme originally hosted on Breaking the Spine but has since linked up with “Can’t Wait Wednesday” at Wishful Endings now that the original creator is unable to host it anymore. This is a great way to share upcoming releases you’re excited about!

Cover Links to Goodreads

THE BOOK OF GOTHEL by Mary McMynee
Release Date: July 26th, 2022

I do enjoy a fairy tale retelling, so naturally THE BOOK OF GOTHEL is on my radar! As you can probably guess from the cover, this is a spin on Rapunzel. From the synopsis, it looks like there’s a fair bit of departure from the inspiring myth, but I’m so curious to see how the author plays with the conventions of the story!

Synopsis:

Everyone knows the tale of Rapunzel in her tower, but do you know the story of the witch who put her there?

Haelewise has always lived under the shadow of her mother, Hedda—a woman who will do anything to keep her daughter protected. For with her strange black eyes and even stranger fainting spells, Haelewise is shunned by her medieval village, and her only solace lies in the stories her mother tells of child-stealing witches, of princes in wolf-skins, of an ancient tower cloaked in mist, where women will find shelter if they are brave enough to seek it.

Then, Hedda dies, and Haelewise is left unmoored. With nothing left for her in her village, she sets out to find the legendary tower her mother used to speak of—a place called Gothel, where Haelewise meets a wise woman willing to take her under her wing.

But Haelewise is not the only woman to seek refuge at Gothel. It’s also a haven for a girl named Rika, who carries with her a secret the Church strives to keep hidden. A secret that unlocks a dark world of ancient spells and murderous nobles behind the world Haelewise has always known…

In the vein of Wicked, Spinning Silver, and Hild, The Book of Gothel is a dark, lush, and beautiful reimagining of Rapunzel told from the witch’s perspective, a tale of motherhood, magic, and the stories we pass down to our children.

One thought on “Waiting on Wednesday: 04/27/22

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: