Weekly Reading Check-In: 05/22/19

Happy Wednesday everyone!  Time for another weekly check-in using WWW Wednesday, a meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Want to participate?  Simply answer the three questions below and tag the host site!  Book covers link to Goodreads.

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

 25895524  51ogdapicrl._sx321_bo1204203200_  Kingdom-FinalCover

Currently Reading: RED SISTER by Mark Lawrence
I started this Monday and got through about 100 pages (20% of the book) on day one, which bodes well for my enjoyment of the whole book!  I’m still in the “welcome to assassin school” section, but enjoying it pretty well so far.  My only niggling complaint is these are the most well-spoken nine-year-olds I’ve ever encountered, which has been somewhat jarring.   More thoughts later!

Recently Finished: JADE CITY by Fonda Lee and THE KINGDOM by Jess Rothenberg
I got to check a backlist book off last week and what a read!  Really enjoyed this, was so much different than I was expecting.  In terms of aesthetic, I went in expecting Avatar the Last Airbender and instead got Legend of Korra, and I am perfectly happy with that!  I also sped through THE KINGDOM in record time, a read I found a lot of fun, even if I don’t think it will be on my best of list at the end of the year.

Probable Next Read: ????
This is going to depend so much on how quickly I get through RED SISTER.  I really, really would like to get in one more backlist read for Wyrd and Wonder, but I have a deluge of reviews due in June and I believe it may finally be time to get to them.  I’m looking forward to a lot my upcoming reviews, including SORCERY OF THORNS and VELOCITY WEAPON, so this is not a tragedy, I just need more time to READ ALL THE BOOKS.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Reading Check-In: 05/22/19

Add yours

  1. I need more time too, if you figure out how to conquer it, let me know! I feel like May sped by so quickly and I barely read anything on my list😬

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑