Top Ten Tuesday – Books on My Spring 2019 TBR

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a look at our spring 2019 TBRs.  I’ve already loosely plotted out my reads for April and May, so I’m going to share all of them with you, meaning you’re getting a full TWELVE books on this list.  Rules were made to be broken, right?  Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

I’ve broken this list into two categories: ARCs and Backlist. Wyrd and Wonder, a month long fantasy book fest in the blogging community, is upcoming, and I’m using it as an excuse to tackle some books that have long been on my TBR.

All book covers link to Goodreads!

Backlist Books

22299763  34913546  34618380

CROOKED KINGDOM by Leigh Bardugo
I’m reading SIX OF CROWS as part of the #Hamilthon Reading Challenge, and I have designated the duology the next task for my Great Series Read Project. That means I’m reading these books in back-to-back months, so after SIX OF CROWS in March, I’ll conclude the series in April!

SNOWSPELLED by Stephanie Burgis
A light regency fantasy novella for Wyrd and Wonder!  This has been recommended by a couple different people, so I’m looking forward to squeezing this in between heftier tomes.

SHIP OF SMOKE AND STEEL BY Django Wexler
This book has one of my favorite pieces of cover art this year and I’m really looking forward to reading it.  I haven’t read any of Wexler’s adult books (despite having one glaring at me from my TBR shelves…) but I’m looking forward to this YA adventure about a young woman with access to powerful battle magic who has to steal a ghost ship.

819wol5i7bl  36672988  51ogdapicrl._sx321_bo1204203200_  34219880

REFLECTION (TWISTED TALES #4) by Elizabeth Lim
I haven’t been too drawn to Disney’s line of books that explore “What Ifs” of the Disney universe, but then I spotted one about Mulan and was immediately suckered into buying it.  This entry asks “What if Shang died during the avalanche and Mulan had to journey to the underworld to rescue his soul?” My favorite Disney heroine taking on death itself?  Bring it.

SHADOW OF THE FOX by Julie Kagawa
This was a book I was eager to read when it came out last November, but November was a HORRENDOUSLY busy month for book releases and this just got lost in the shuffle.  With the sequel coming out in June, I want to make time to finally read this and see if I want to continue on in the series.

JADE CITY by Fonda Lee
I have heard nothing but glowing praise for this Asian-inspired fantasy novel where powers are enhanced by jade, and warring criminal families fight to see who controls the jade trade. The sequel JADE WAR comes out in May (are we sensing a pattern in my picks yet?) and I’d like to get this read so I can tackle the sequel in the summer.

THE TETHERED MAGE by Melissa Caruso
The first book in a trilogy that is (you guessed it) coming to an end in April and Twitter is abuzz with excitement at the final installment being released.  I am thus abuzz with excitement to start the series!

ARCs

memorycalledempire_small  39863314  ss-6-1-664x1024

A MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE by Arkady Martine
I’ve had a copy of this sci-fi novel since last San Diego Comic Con, and yet I’ve somehow managed to be unable to read this before its March 2019 release date.  When an ambassador from a small mining station arrives at the heart of an intergalactic empire, she learns her predecessor died under mysterious circumstances, leaving her the task of sorting out what conspiracy led to his death.

THE PERFECT ASSASSIN by K.A. Doore
A murder mystery in a city full of assassins, one young fledgling assassin must find out who is murdering the city’s elite before the fingers are pointed at himself – or worse, before he becomes the next victim.

SEVEN BLADES IN BLACK by Sam Sykes
I have never read a Sam Sykes novel, so I’m looking forward to the experience!  Besides having gorgeous cover art, this book boasts a fantasy revenge tale of a woman who was stripped of her magic and left for dead in a wasteland.

81eegqrnhtl  81zzj2jtx5l

STORM OF LOCUSTS by Rebecca Roanhorse
TRAIL OF LIGHTNING was my favorite read from last year, so I’m incredibly excited that I managed to score an advanced copy of the sequel.  This takes place one month after the events of the first book, and as a certain character’s fate was unresolved, I can’t wait to see how events play out.

AN ILLUSION OF THIEVES by Cate Glass
An upcoming fantasy release about a courtesan who uses her influence at court to spare her brother the death penalty when he is caught using magic.  Exiled to the slums as part of the deal, that courtesan falls in with a group of allies, and soon finds herself calling on their aid to prevent a civil war from breaking out in the city.

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books on My Spring 2019 TBR

Add yours

  1. A Memory Called Empire! I recently read it and loved everything about it, I hope it works for you too. I really liked The Perfect Assassin as well, I thought it had one of the most interesting fantasy settings I read in the last few months.
    And I’m really interested in Ship of Smoke and Steel – I haven’t heard anything about it and I haven’t read anything by Django Wexler before, but I like the premise (and I agree, the cover is beautiful.)
    Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have Six of Crows on my shelf after winning it a while back in a giveaway. I really should read it, everyone seems t love this duology. I remember thinking Jade City sounded pretty amazing as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑