Weekly Reading Check-in: 05/15/19

Happy Wednesday everyone!  Time for another weekly check-in using WWW Wednesday, a meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Want to participate?  Simply answer the three questions below and tag the host site!  Book covers link to Goodreads.

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

51ogdapicrl._sx321_bo1204203200_  43263520  Kingdom-FinalCover

Currently Reading: JADE CITY by Fonda Lee
It’s a short update this week, as even though I feel like I am DEVOURING JADE CITY, I’ve still got about a third of it left. I’m hoping against hope I can finish it in the next day or two as I really would like to get to a few more books for Wyrd and Wonder before I disappear under the deluge of ARCs that I bestowed upon myself.

You may also notice in the sidebar that I’m reading THE OUTLAW DEMON WAILS.  My desire to return Kim Harrison’s THE HOLLOWS series has made me finally return to audiobooks for my commute!  I’ve decided this won’t be a book I review on the blog, it’s just a me-book to enjoy on the side.

Recently Finished: THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
This spot was almost empty this week, but I managed to finish out THE GRACE YEAR at the last minute.  This hasn’t been a priority read for me, more something I’ve been reading on the side when I only had a short amount of time on hand and didn’t want to get invested in JADE CITY.  And my reaction….I’m going to be working through that in my review because I did NOT like the ending at all, and yet I see a flurry of five star reviews on Goodreads right now which both baffles me and does not. This is a YA I can certainly see the target audience going gaga for, but I have some issues with the book, and I’m trying to pull apart if it’s poor execution or my own frustrations with what I feel “should be happening” that are coloring my feelings.  As in, this is a book dealing in some regards with the kind of hysteria that ran rampant during the Salem Witch Trials and I’m just looking at the characters like they’re all idiots.  And I don’t know if that’s fair of me to project but BOY did I feel like the ending tripped over itself. And this is a much longer paragraph than I anticipated.

Probable Next Read: THE KINGDOM by Jess Rothenberg
With this YA sci-fi murder mystery coming out in just a few weeks, it’s time to tackle my ARC and get a review posted!  I’ve been looking forward to this one, enough that even though I was denied on NetGalley for the ARC, I took a swing and requested on Edelweiss – and got it!

3 thoughts on “Weekly Reading Check-in: 05/15/19

Add yours

  1. I’m really curious to read your review of The Grace Year. This book is so hyped and I’ve enjoyed Kim’s books in the past. Also sad that I haven’t been able to start Jade City! I might just have to throw out my ARC pile and go for it😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As the supporter of bad decisions, I say doooo iiiit, embrace Jade City!

      RE: Grace Year, I’m probably going to hold the review until closer to the release in September, but I’m happy to slip it to you on the side when it’s done or discuss in DMs if you want!

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑