Five Favorite Games from #E32019

Taking a break from books for a moment to celebrate one of my other favorite passions: video games!  This week is E3, the big week when developers show off upcoming games, announce release dates, and occasionally reveal a surprise or two.    I’ve highlighted some of the games that caught my eye this year – what are you looking forward to?

3daagjald2dy-920x516

FINAL FANTASY VII REMAKE
Let’s get the big one out of the way.  I admittedly have way less nostalgia for this game than others, having only recently borrowed a friends PS2 and powered through.  I’d told myself I would watch from afar and that I didn’t need to replay this game. And then the gameplay trailer dropped and OH MY GOD GIVE IT TO ME NOW.  The game looks gorgeous, the combat looks great, and suddenly this is one of most anticipated releases for 2020. Now the big question mark is the fact that they are splitting FFVIIR into multiple games, so when will the next one come out?

maxresdefault

ORI AND THE WILL OF THE WISPS
Mostly we just saw a gameplay teaser at E3, which seems to emphasize combat a lot more in this iteration than in its predecessor, ORI AND THE BLIND FOREST.  Regardless, this will likely be a release day purchase for me, given how much I LOVED the first game.

jedi-fallen-order-625x352

STAR WARS JEDI: FALLEN ORDER
I am admittedly not 100% sold on this game, but I’m fairly eager to have a new Star Wars game in my life, so I have to get a little bit excited.  While the gameplay we saw at E3 was fairly linear, the developers have said elsewhere that the majority of the game will be more akin to BREATH OF THE WILD, where you can go to which ever planet you want, with certain areas blocked until you unlock certain abilities.   This one remains in the question mark pile, and I’ll probably wait on reviews before digging in.

astral-chain

ASTRAL CHAIN
Every time I see this game I am reminded of just how much I love a good anime aesthetic.  I can tell you pretty much nothing about the plot, but damn if a kickass anime woman with a mysterious cyber partner conjured by a chain weapon (??) isn’t very much everything I want in a game.  Reviewers who got to play the demo were impressed, so hopefully this will be a solid game!

vlcsnap_2019_06_09_21h23m50s110.0

DEATHLOOP
We pretty much only saw a cinematic trailer for this game, which seems to comprise two assassins caught in a sci- fi Groundhog’s Day scenario.  One assassin wants to “preserve” the loop, the other wants to break it.  No indication of how this concept actually manifests in terms of game play, but I’m definitely keeping an eye on this one!

cyberpunk-2077-keanu-reeves-1174755-1280x0

CYBERPUNK 2077 – Now with Keanu Reeves!
I have very mixed feelings about next year’s big RPG release, CYBERPUNK 2077.  Last year’s demo trailer didn’t impress me in terms of dialogue, which seemed to insert a curse every other word in a sentence, which came across to me as a desperate attempt to prove how “mature” and “edgy” the game was.  One the one hand, I love how many customization options you are (seemingly) given based on what we’ve seen in demos, and I do love an RPG.  But with the game going out of its way to prove how violent and mature it is…I may have to give this a pass.  That said, Keanu Reeves coming on stage to announce he’s a character in the game was the best moment of E3, and I dare anyone to prove me otherwise!

There are definitely other games I haven’t mentioned (LINK’S AWAKENING looks absolutely adorable) but these are my top choices for now.  What games have looked good to you this week?

11 thoughts on “Five Favorite Games from #E32019

Add yours

  1. Obviously I agree with anything Final Fantasy. Astral Chain still looks great except for those stupid pandering bubble butt shorts they have the female main character in. Peeeeeveees

    Cyberpunk looks great. -Keanu Reeves intensifies-

    Fire Emblem, Animal Crossing, Pokemanz, Panzer Dragoon, and Spyyyyro on Switch!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is aggravating that anime costume design can’t get past the objectification, I love so much of it otherwise!

      I’m really curious about the FE Three Houses. It’s been a while since I’ve picked up a Fire Emblem game, but this might be a good one to go back on!

      Like

  2. Can’t say I was all that impressed with this year’s E3 showings, but then again they preview some games so far ahead of time I know I probably won’t take notice until we get to hear more news and see more gameplay. I’m going to be cautiously optimistic about Fallen Order as well, in recent years the SW games have been hit or miss!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah you can really tell this is an off cycle year for developers. They’re all stalling for next gen consoles. I was surprised that Square Enix and Nintendo had the games I was most excited about – and I don’t have a switch!

      Like

  3. E3 wasn’t my favorite this year (though, since we moved right in the middle of it, I didn’t get to really watch it as much). I mean, I am really excited for Cyberpunk 2077. Personally, I think it looks fantastic, though I totally understand your reservations about it!! Watch Dogs: Legion looks *super* interesting, even if it’s normally not my kind of game and I’m curious about Outer Worlds!

    But I was *really* wanting news about Dragon Age 4 and an announcement of a Horizon Zero Dawn sequel; or confirmation that Assassin’s Creed: Vikings might be a thing? So I was a bit disappointed nothing happened in any of those realms.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree Legion looks interesting, but I bounced SO HARD off the first game I’m not sure if I’ll check it out. Definitely hope Outer Worlds is good, I’d love a more contained RPG to play with.

      I suspect those latter announcements you hoped for will be next year’s announcements, heading into new console launches. I can wait another year on an AC announcement, I haven’t played Origins or Odyssey yet lol. BUT GIVE ME HORIZON ZERO DAWN 2!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m really hopeful for Outer Worlds and I’ve heard some pretty positive things about it!

        Odyssey is really good! Granted, have I played any of the other AC games? Negative, Commander. 😛

        YES, PLEASE.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, the completionist bug bit me on Assassin’s Creed and I insist playing through the absurd meta-story in order (skipping AC:Unity because it was supposed to be incredibly buggy and I don’t have time for that). Which reminds me, I’m super close to finishing Syndicate, I should wrap that up….

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Okay, so I lied. I actually DID play the first one and then got to the very end before I had to leave my PS behind and then, by the time I got back to it, I was so shite at the mechanics that I couldn’t beat it, so I never went back. *dies* But I really enjoyed Odyssey, even if I didn’t understand the overarching AC storyline at all!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑