Weekly Reading Check-in: 06/19/19

Happy Wednesday everyone!  Time for another weekly check-in using WWW Wednesday, a meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Want to participate?  Simply answer the three questions below and tag the host site!  Book covers link to Goodreads.

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

51qj3gs1jyl  41085049  3667298891mhlb6qodl  40696972

Currently Reading: EMPRESS OF FOREVER by Max Gladstone
I’ve barely dipped my toes into this mammoth book, so I don’t have too much to say at the moment.  My early impression, however, is that protagonist Viv’s third-person narration is going to be the light sarcastic weariness that I live for, so fingers crossed!

Recently Finished: VELOCITY WEAPON by Megan E. O’Keefe and SHADOW OF THE FOX by Julie Kagawa
I’m on a streak of pretty solid books this month!  I posted my review for VELOCITY WEAPON at the end of last week, but suffice to say it was a fun ride and I really enjoyed this new space opera!  In the last few days I completely shifted gears and read a YA Japanese-inspired fantasy, SHADOW OF THE FOX.  This really felt like an anime in book form, and I mean that with the highest of praise.  The book is pulling from a whole host of mythical Japanese creatures to aid and hinder our heroes and the action sequences were really well done.  More on that book in the coming days!

Probable Next Read: THE ROSEWATER INSURRECTION by Tade Thompson or MEDUSA UPLOADED by Emily Devenport
I would REALLY like the chance to make progress on my Great Series Read Project by tackling the next Rosewater book, especially as the ebook was just checked out to me by the library.  But given how much I’m treading water on ARCs, I may need to forgo that in favor of sequel prep.  I was approved for MEDUSA IN THE GRAVEYARD which releases in July, but I still need to read book one of this sci-fi series!  And then there’s the matter of reading my ARC of SOUL OF THE SWORD at some point…..

8 thoughts on “Weekly Reading Check-in: 06/19/19

Add yours

  1. I am starting to realize I may not get to all my June books😥 I still need to start Velocity Weapon and Empress of Forever…But I’m glad to hear you like the voice so far in Empress😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t LOVE book one, but there was enough in the final act to make me curious about the sequel, particularly since it’s a new POV character. It could end up a DNF, but I want to give it a shot!

      Like

      1. It’s Aminat, the girlfriend of the MC in book one. She seemed to have a lot happening “off-screen” in book one, which makes me interested in seeing what she’s up to in the sequel.

        Like

  2. Shadow of the Fox ended up being a great read. I enjoyed it a lot more than some of her other books. And the cover of Empress of Forever keeps drawing my gaze haha.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑