Weekly Reading Check-In: 09/18/19

Happy Wednesday everyone!  Time for another weekly check-in using WWW Wednesday, a meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Want to participate?  Simply answer the three questions below and tag the host site!  Book covers link to Goodreads.

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

39098266  811h4mjfa8l  43258307._sy475_41118857  43264755

Currently Reading: KINGDOM OF SOULS by Rena Barron and THE DIABOLIC by S.J. Kincaid
I ended up not getting a lot of reading done this weekend, so I’m only halfway through the YA African Fantasy, KINGDOM OF SOULS.  I have to admit, this one was a bit of a slow start (not bad, just wasn’t firing on all cylinders) , but at about 30% it really took off, so I’m hoping to get through this in the next day or two!  THE DIABOLIC continues to be my audiobook commute listen, and I am so happy that it lives up to my remembrance as a brutal YA sci-fi court drama.  Really hoping to continue on afterwards with the audiobook of the sequel!

Recently Finished: A HOUSE OF RAGE AND SORROW by Sangu Mandanna
I blitzed through this one in just a few days, given that it’s pretty short.  I really enjoyed this world and its blend of mythology and sci-fi tropes,  as well as the character drama, though I think the shortness makes the story just short of being great.  You can find my full review here!

Probable Next Read: THE DRAGON REPUBLIC by R.F. Kuang or STEEL CROW SAGA by Paul Krueger
I’m really torn about my next read, as I have two equally good options!  I’m a month behind on my review for THE DRAGON REPUBLIC, so I feel like I should give that a read first, but with STEEL CROW SAGA coming out next week, I’d love to try and squeeze in that read before the release!  Tune in next week to see what exciting choice I made!

4 thoughts on “Weekly Reading Check-In: 09/18/19

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑