Weekly Reading Check-In: 12/05/19

Happy Wednesday everyone!  Time for another weekly check-in using WWW Wednesday, a meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Want to participate?  Simply answer the three questions below and tag the host site!  Book covers link to Goodreads.

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

43264755  37632682._sy475_  4397954045452530

Currently Reading: STEEL CROW SAGA by Paul Krueger
Sci-Fi Month is over, so it’s time to turn my attention to the pile of 2019 ARCs I’ve allowed to accumulate.  First up is STEEL CROW SAGA, a book I’ve been dying to read!  I’m a little over 50 pages into this one, so impressions are early, but I can easily see the reason people are comparing this to Avatar The Last Airbender and Pokemon.   We’ve got all kinds of competing national agendas and people who summon spirit creatures to fight for them and metal benders, and a group of people forced together by circumstance.  This is a Big Book, so I expect this will take me at least a week to get through.

Recently Finished: THE TOLL by Neal Shusterman and STARSIGHT by Brandon Sanderson
I made good use of the holiday week and finished two books!  THE TOLL was a fantastic conclusion to the ARC OF A SCYTHE trilogy – you can read my full review here!  If you haven’t started this series, I highly recommend it.  I also accomplished the rare goal of reading a book within the same week it was released by reading STARSIGHT!  Review is still to come, but in true Sanderson fashion, this book zigs when you think it will zag.  Although I think SKYWARD is still my favorite, this was a solid follow-up in a great YA series.

Probable Next Read: RESISTANCE REBORN by Rebecca Roanhorse 
After STEEL CROW SAGA, I’m taking a quick ARC break to read RESISTANCE REBORN, the bridge novel between THE LAST JEDI and THE RISE OF SKYWALKER.  I haven’t gotten to this sooner because I wanted to rewatch THE LAST JEDI first and I haven’t had a moment yet, but with the movie a few weeks out, I’m going to find the time soon!

What are you reading this week?

7 thoughts on “Weekly Reading Check-In: 12/05/19

Add yours

  1. I’m in panic mode this month, I just realized. I guess I’m realizing there’s only a few weeks left to get in 2019 reads that may be amazing and end up on my “best of” lists. So I’m all over the place with my reading, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑