Weekly Reading Check-in: 07/10/22

Time for another weekly check-in using WWW Wednesday, a meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Want to participate?  Simply answer the three questions below and tag the host site!  Book covers link to Goodreads.

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

 The Book of Gothel  The Hourglass Throne  The Defiant Heir

Currently Reading: THE BOOK OF GOTHEL by Mary McMyne
Next up on my docket is THE BOOK OF GOTHEL, a Rapunzel retelling. Nothing to report yet as I’m just baaaarely into it, but hope to get through this over the week!

Recently Finished: THE HOURGLASS THRONE by K.D. Edwards and FOR THE THRONE by Hannah Whitten
Hot DAMN, THE HOURGLASS THRONE was a phenomenal book. So much action, so much heart, I absolutely loved it. If you like urban fantasy, found family, and powerful magic users going toe to toe, you need to check out the TAROT SEQUENCE. THE HOURGLASS THRONE concludes the first trilogy of the series, but more books are planned (I believe the idea is for three sets of trilogies for the full sequence). Hop on board now!

On the other hand, FOR THE THRONE did some things very well (atmosphere FOR DAYS), but there were some plot lines that felt like they were meandering and stalling that I could have done without. Your mileage will vary depending on how invested in the characters you are. Full review coming later this week!

Probable Next Read: THE DEFIANT HEIR by Melissa Caruso
Hoping to get to my backlist series read for the month, THE DEFIANT HEIR, which got put on the backburner last month when I needed a break from physical books due to tendinitis. Physical therapy is helping me ease those symptoms, so I’m hopeful I’ll be able to continue with this series this month! This series is set in a world where all magic users are conscripted and bound to be unable to use their magic without the consent of their handler. When the heir of a noble house and a powerful magic user from the streets end up bound together, they’re thrust into a world of politics and possible war that they were not ready for. Book one was a solid first outing, but everybody seems to love book two the best, so we’ll see!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Reading Check-in: 07/10/22

Add yours

  1. Yay for The Hourglass Throne! I can’t wait to read your review. And I’m curious to hear more about The Book of Gothel. I didn’t request it but I’ve seen some good reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑