Monthly Wrap-Up: October 2023

Another great month in reading! I managed to knock out seven books and a short story, including a new contender for Top 5 Book of the year. Which brings to my attention that it’s getting close to the time of year when I start pulling together my short list for end of year writing…

Next month is Sci-Fi Month, and while I don’t know if I have time to participate this year like I have in years past, I do unintentionally have a significant number of sci-fi books on my monthly TBR for November, so I’ll be participating in spirit! Hopefully I can pull together at least one post, it’s always a fun time to celebrate a genre I enjoy.

Great Series Read Update

This was almost a month without a lot of sequel reading, and then I ended up reading basically all of the DEAD DJINN UNIVERSE material in the space of a week, huzzah! Thanks to whatever intuition guided me, I read the novella THE HAUNTING OF TRAM CAR 015, then pulled A MASTER OF DJINN at random from my TBR jar, so I naturally made time for the founding short story, A DEAD DJINN IN CAIRO. Aside from another short story that I think I’m going to skip for now, I now declare this series complete (and I had a fantastic time completing it!).

Next month I’m hoping to get back on track with some backlist sequel reading. I’m hoping to FINALLY read THE FRACTURED DARK, as well as making time for book 2 in the POWDER MAGE books, THE CRIMSON CAMPAIGN.

Reviews/Books Read

THE FRAGILE THREADS OF POWER by V.E. Schwab – 4/5 Stars
GENERATION SHIP by Michael Mammay – 3/5 Stars
THESE BURNING STARS by Bethany Jacobs – 5/5 Stars
FOURTH WING by Rebecca Yarros – 4/5 Stars
THE HAUNTING OF TRAM CAR 015 by P. Djeli Clark – 3.5/5 Stars
A DEAD DJINN IN CAIRO by P. Djeli Clark – 4/5 Stars
THE QUEEN OF DAYS by Greta Kelly – 3/5 Stars
A MASTER OF DJINN by P. Djeli Clark – 4/5 Stars
CALAMITY by Constance Fay – 3/5 Stars

8 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: October 2023

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑