Monthly Reading Wrap-Up: April 2024

I said April was going to be the month of the Chaos TBR, and it certainly lived up to the name! While I planned to read an equal amount of backlist and new releases, panic about my ARC pile set in and I ended up doing a flurry of reading to try and clear out ARCs I was behind on, with a reasonable amount of success! I’m a little sad I didn’t have time to pull more random books from my TBR jar, but it feels good not to be so far behind. I did also have my second DNF of the year with IMMORTAL PLEASURES. While it’s always disappointing when a book doesn’t work for you, it was also a relief to cross one more book off my TBR relatively quickly and move on to something else instead.

And if you aren’t aware, May is Wyrd and Wonder! This is an annual blogging event to celebrate all things fantasy. While I won’t have a special reading list (due to the afore mentioned ARC pile), I AM trying to actually write some posts this year, so stay tuned for that!

Great Series Read Update

After a string of months where I was reading sequels right and left, I finally hit a bit of a dry month. Because this was an ARC heavy month, I read a lot of standalones and book ones, with only THE HEMLOCK QUEEN as a sequel read. On the other hand, I did finally reread BLACK SUN in preparation for finishing the trilogy in June, and a reread is never a small feat for me!

Reviews/Books Read

CAN’T SPELL TREASON WITHOUT TEA by Rebecca Thorne – 3.5/5 Stars
MASTER & APPRENTICE by Claudia Gray – 3.5/5 Stars
THE HEMLOCK QUEEN by Hannah Whitten – 4/5 Stars
IMMORTAL PLEASURES by V. Castro – DNF
THE BOOK OF ILE-RIEN: THE ELEMENT OF FIRE by Martha Wells – 4/5 Stars
A FATE INKED IN BLOOD by Danielle Jensen – 3.5/5 Stars
BLACK SUN by Rebecca Roanhoarse – 4/5 Stars (reread)

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑