Weekly Reading Check-In: 09/25/19

Happy Wednesday everyone!  Time for another weekly check-in using WWW Wednesday, a meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Want to participate?  Simply answer the three questions below and tag the host site!  Book covers link to Goodreads.

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

41118857  39098266  811h4mjfa8l

Currently Reading: THE DRAGON REPUBLIC by R. F. Kuang
This is a book that I cannot read fast enough, even as I’m terrified for it to end. It picks up three months after the devastating events that concluded THE POPPY WAR, and Rin is a complete mess of competing emotions. Guilt, thirst for vengeance, insecurity about her ability to lead, PTSD.  Just the kind of person you want wielding the power of a god, right? I’m about halfway through, definitely will have this finished by next week.

Recently Finished: KINGDOM OF SOULS by Rena Barron and THE DIABOLIC by S.J. Kincaid
Two YA reads finished off in the last week, one middling, one FANTASTIC.  KINGDOM OF SOULS was adequate, great core character dynamics balancing out pacing issues and some passiveness built into the lead character.  You can find a full review here!  On the flip side, I finished my audiobook reread of THE DIABOLIC, a YA sci-fi court drama about a genetically-engineered bodyguard who is sent to the imperial court in place of the girl she is bonded to protect.  She’ll have to pretend to be part of the nobility while being drawn into the plots of the royal family, who all seem determined to kill each other.  I’ll have a review up later this week, but I’m so glad this book held up.  Really looking forward to getting to the sequel!

Probable Next Read: ????
Good lord there are WAY too many books coming out in the next few months, and they’re all so meaty I’m struggling to keep up!  I think I’m going to jump ahead to an October release to get a review ready, maybe THE BEAUTIFUL or THRONE OF THE FIVE WINDS, before jumping back to STEEL CROW SAGA or GUILD OF TOKENS.  I honestly have no idea for sure what I’m going to read next, I’ve got about five excellent candidates and which ones I prefer changes every hour!  We’ll see how my emotions are after finishing THE DRAGON REPUBLIC and what kind of book I need to read as I recover.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Reading Check-In: 09/25/19

Add yours

  1. I haven’t got to The Poppy War or The Dragon Republic yet but I’m *aching* to read them. Got a couple of series to finish first but these books just excite me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑