Weekly Reading Check-In: 04/15/20

Happy Wednesday everyone!  Time for another weekly check-in using WWW Wednesday, a meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. Want to participate?  Simply answer the three questions below and tag the host site!  Book covers link to Goodreads.

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

47902784  40571151._sy475_

Currently Reading: NETWORK EFFECT by Martha Wells
New Murderbot!  I’m so excited this one finally got to the top of my queue. I’m thoroughly enjoying it, but it is taking me longer to get through than anticipated.   As of writing this, I just passed the halfway mark, so I expect I’ll finish sometime this weekend. I suspect that the current quarantine conditions are making it a little difficult to focus on sci-fi adventures with wormholes and data feeds and technical mumbo jumbo, no matter how much humor is there.

Recently Finished: RACE THE SANDS by Sarah Beth Durst
This was an excellent fantasy adventure that was a good getaway for me last week.  There was training, there was mystery, there was mystical creature bonding. You can read my full review here, but I can definitely recommend picking this one up when it comes out in the US on April 21st.

Probable Next Read:  ???
I honestly have no idea what I’m picking up next, it’s going to be a huge mood read decision.  On my April TBR, I still have DARKDAWN, BLOOD TALLY, and THE KINGDOM OF LIARS, but with self-isolation beginning to take a toll, I may chuck the queue out the window and pick something up at random.  I’ve begun window shopping at Mysterious Galaxy, an indie bookstore a few hours south of me that I’ve never actually been to in person, but I enjoy seeing them at San Diego Comic Con every year, which is looking increasingly likely not to happen this summer. So I may order something from them and slip that onto the top of my stack.  We shall see what happens!

 

7 thoughts on “Weekly Reading Check-In: 04/15/20

Add yours

  1. I was just thinking of buying something from Mysterious Galaxy too! I want to help support indie bookstores so they don’t go out of business. And I know what you mean about mood reading. My next book will probably be a non review book…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, Network Effect! I’m sorry you’re not able to focus on it right now, this virus is really taking its toll in every way of life. Hope your reading picked up a bit and you’re enjoying your weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑