Monthly Wrap Up: April 2020

After a month that felt like it would never end, April went by in the blink of an eye!  Fortunately, I was able to keep on treking with my reads.  I didn’t finish all 6 of the books on my TBR for the month, but I’m 2/3 through the last one!  I also read plenty of sequels (more on that below) and succeeded once again in my monthly self-published read, tearing through novella BLOODY TALLY by Brian McClellan.

Next month, I’m participating in the annual Wyrd and Wonder blogging event, which is just an extra excuse for me to flail about all things fantasy!  You can sign up at any time to join in the fun – there’s no obligation, just the opportunity to squeal about all you favorite fantasy related things!  I’m also taking a month to embrace the chaos and not truly follow a set TBR – more details on that here!

Books Read/Reviewed

SHOREFALL by Robert Jackson Bennett (ARC) – 5/5 Stars
WITH THE FIRE ON HIGH by Elizabeth Acevedo (ARC) – 4/5 Stars
RACE THE SANDS by Sarah Beth Durst (ARC) – 4/5 Stars
NETWORK EFFECT by Martha Wells (ARC) – 4/5 stars
DARKDAWN by Jay Kristoff – 4.5/5 stars
BLOOD TALLY by Brian McClellan – 4/5 Stars – Review to Come

The Great Series Read Project Update

Wow, this was a fantastic month for sequel reading! It helps that I managed to purchase or obtain ARCs for newly releasing sequels, allowing me to stay on top of some in-progress series.  To that end, I read SHOREFALL (which was utterly fantastic), the delightful NETWORK EFFECT, and the action-packed BLOOD TALLY.  But the true success this month was reading DARKDAWN, book three in THE NEVERNIGHT CHRONICLES – which means I successfully started and finished a full backlist series this year!  In a way, I almost consider this the first real success of the project – a lot of last year’s reads were reading the first two books in incomplete trilogies (which still meant I read a lot of awesome things!) and one duology.  NEVERNIGHT is the first series I’ve started from the beginning and actually finished!

Next month is going to be interesting for the GSRP – I’ve committed to a bit of anarchy for Wyrd and Wonder, meaning I might start a number of series next month.  I’m going to try hard to fit at least one sequel in there, but I might have several new additions to the project slate!  Come back next month to see what happened!

Notable Posts

The Guard Was Female: Extending Gender Representation Beyond Your Main Characters
Wyrd and Wonder TBR 2020: Tides of Chaos
Top Five Tuesday: Series I Want to Start
First Impression: THE BONE SHARD DAUGHTER by Andrea Stewart
Top Five Tuesday: Video Games I’m Enjoying in Quarantine

And that’s a wrap on April!  See you all in May!

2 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up: April 2020

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑