Blogging to Get Free Books: Sometimes Necessary, not Evil

There’s been a sentiment expressed again and again in the book blogging community that bloggers don’t blog out of a desire for free books. When the accusations get hurled that bloggers are corporate shills or are paid for their reviews, bloggers are quick to respond that they blog out of love and passion for reading, not merely for the shiny ARCs blogging grants. The well-meaning outrage defending the hours bloggers put into their work creates a stigma, intentionally or not, against the notion that anyone would get involved in book blogging as a way to get free books. In fact, some go so far as to say that if you are starting a blog to get free books, you’re doing it for the wrong reasons.

I understand the impetus to discourage people from thinking that blogging is an easy gateway to free stuff. Blogging is, in essence, a part time job. The amount of time and dedication it takes to build any kind of following and to regularly put out content requires that you enjoy reading and writing. Even after all the work you put in, you may not get ANY free ARCs from a publisher. Blogging is a lot of work for no pay, and I’m not here to dismiss that fact.

But here’s my dirty secret: when I started my blog three years and a half years ago, I did it for the free books.

How the Blog Started

When I first decided to make a book blog, I was financially solvent, but only just. I could pay my rent and buy groceries without issue (and that’s while living in Los Angeles), but something as simple as a night at Olive Garden made me wince at my budget. I was breaking even every month, as long as I didn’t do anything *too* fancy. Most of my book shopping (when I did any at all) came from second-hand shops and discount online stores that primarily carried backlist titles. The idea of paying $27+tax for a new release hard back? Out of the question.

So how did I come to make a blog? Enter my mother, who is a successful blogger herself, albeit in the classic movie world. She’s been writing for over a decade now, and has reached the point (after many years of blogging) where she gets a sizeable number of free review screeners. The way she approaches blogging stuck with me: it’s something she enjoys and would do regardless, but the free screeners she now gets as a result help support her hobby. It saves her a few hundred dollars a year, which isn’t a lot, but isn’t nothing.

So in the summer of 2018, there I was, having just returned from San Diego Comic Con, where a friend had introduced me to the wonderful world of ARCs. As I stared at my pile of free books (the dollar amount of which basically covered what I’d spent on my badge for SDCC), I wondered if I too, could find a way to support my hobby through blogging. Could I also convince people to send me new releases simply by sharing my excitement about them?

I will stress again that the ONLY reason I have survived 3.5 years of blogging is because it is something I enjoy. Having a creative outlet in my life is necessary to me, as is having a place to flail and rant about things in my life. I used to come tearing out of my room after finishing a book and unleash my thoughts on my poor roommate, who would listen with polite nods but not really *get* it. Blogging allows me to be in a community of fellow enthusiasts who are ALSO excited about reading, not just tolerating my thoughts because that’s what friends do.

The Math of ARCs

But blogging also meant that I could afford to stay on top of new releases, and all it cost me was a handful of hours a week putting my thoughts to page. I would be lying if I said that the free books were not a significant factor in encouraging me to keep at it. Here’s the simple math:

I was lucky enough to receive 36 ARCs in 2021. Let’s say, on average, each of those books in their initial release cost $20. That means I saved around $720 through blogging last year. Depending on how many of those ARCs were first released in hardcover vs. paperback, that number could in actuality be anywhere between $500 and $1000. Those numbers aren’t something to sneeze at, especially if you’re just getting by. So yeah, I blogged to save myself several hundred dollars. Is that really a bad thing?

(I’m not going to get into the math of manhours vs. value received. As stated above, this is a hobby and I’m not begrudging the time I put into writing my blog. I simply want to point out that free ARCs can represent a significant amount of money a person might not have to spend on something that isn’t a “necessity.”)

ARCs Keep You Current

I’ve been chasing ARCs not just because I knew I wanted to read them, but because there was a narrow window when it would be free (and therefore affordable) to me. The way my finances worked, if I didn’t get an ARC, I probably wouldn’t read it that year unless I got it as a gift. That’s why, despite best pledges to read more backlist, nearly 2/3 of my reading every year since I started blogging has been new releases. Getting an ARC was how I could afford a new release, and reading and reviewing that ARC in a timely manner was how I kept on good terms with the publishers. It’s easy to say “bloggers don’t owe reviews,” but steady reviews are what keep publicists happy, which keep ARCs coming which means I can continue to read new releases despite my budget.

Now, for the first time in years, I don’t have the pressure of relying on ARCs to read new releases. I’ve had some changes in my life and career in the last several months that mean I’m breathing easier when it comes to money. I no longer wince at the thought of buying a book. But that financial freedom also brought into relief how much of my blogging was driven by financial considerations. I was recently working on my monthly TBRs, stressing about when to read book 2 in a series because book 3 was coming out soon and I wanted to be ready to request it from NetGalley.

And then I had a realization. What if I just….waited and bought the book when I was ready? That was an option to me now where it hadn’t been in the past. I could wait a few months and pick a book up when it was convenient to me (or even after I’ve read some fellow bloggers reviews!), not just based on the release date. I was no longer tied down to the the ARC release schedule, because I could afford to buy a book at my leisure. In short, I no longer *needed* the ARC if I wanted to read the book this year.

Blogging and tweeting about backlist books is absolutely a focus you can build your blog around, and I know some bloggers out there who have made a successful community around such an approach. But on the whole you get more engagement if you can talk about the books that are new and exciting, especially if you’re a newer blogger. If you don’t have the money to routinely buy new releases as they come out, ARCs are the affordable way to stay current in the community. Are ARCs 100% necessary to build your audience? No, but they sure don’t hurt.

Blogging Needs Passion, But Money Helps

I want to note, even when my finances weren’t great, I was still pretty privileged. I was never in danger of unpaid bills or deep into debt (except for the lovely burden of student loans). And unlike some countries, I DID have the option of getting ARCs to provide me some “free” entertainment. So if I, a person who had a tight budget but wasn’t desperately struggling, felt some cringe any time someone decried bloggers who blog in the hopes for free books, I can only imagine what others less well off felt. And at the end of the day, if you are chasing free books, it is because you ENJOY BOOKS. Your love and work is not less valid because you are hoping to get some freebies thrown your way.

I’m not going to stop blogging now that I’m less dependent on ARCs. If anything, I’m overjoyed that I now have the time and the money to dive into the many, MANY backlist series I haven’t had a chance to read yet and to share my reactions with people. But I know I can’t be unique in my situation where free books was a draw to the book blogging life.

It’s absolutely true that you need to love reading and writing to succeed at book blogging (or booktube, or booktok, or any of the other marketing arms). And it is true that almost nobody is making money off their blog (at least nothing life changing). But if you came to book blogging out of a desire to financially support your hobby, you shouldn’t be ashamed of it. If you love books and want to read new releases, book blogging may help you afford it where you otherwise couldn’t. Yes, it takes a lot of work, and receiving ARCs is not a guaranteed outcome. But if you manage to make it and those free books help brighten your day? That shouldn’t be looked down on.

30 thoughts on “Blogging to Get Free Books: Sometimes Necessary, not Evil

Add yours

  1. This was such a great post! A well needed and refreshing discussion. I jumped into the world of arcs by pure luck – found a few in a local charity store, they hadn’t come out yet and I bought them and reviewed them before their publishing date. It was from there that I realised I could sign up and try my luck at e-ARCs. Although I didn’t start out with arcs in mind, I would never have been able to run my blog for all these years otherwise, and I definitely would not have fallen in love with so many authors and books I’ve been introduced to. There really should be no shame or guilt connected to wanting arcs or blogging to get ARCs, especially when blogging can be difficult and time consuming!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post!! I can definitely relate to many of your points as well – I totally started blogging in the hopes of getting free books because like many recent college grads, I wasn’t making a whole lot of money. It was financially unfeasible for me to go out and buy new books every time I wanted something new to read so I started work on my blog and started requesting books on Netgalley and thru emails to publishers. My blog is my main hobby and it saves me a ton every year in free books 😃
    It shouldn’t be stigmatized because publishers and authors are getting publicity for the low cost of a digital or sometimes physical ARC, while most other “influencers” in other fields are getting paid to do promos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sounds like you and I had very similar experiences coming to blogging! I’ve just never fully understood people who say getting ARCs is the “wrong reason” to get into blogging. If you’re putting as much time as it takes to get a following to get the ARCs, you clearly like reading! That makes you just as “noble” in your pursuit as someone who doesn’t care about ARCs at all.

      Like

  3. This post is amazing and it is quite the complex and complete take on a long-going discussion. And I loved every words of it.
    I think that the main problem is that when people say that bloggers are there just for the free books the problem is both in the word “just” and “free”. To be clear, blogging as a way to get books is not a bad thing to me. It really makes sense, but obviously it made sense if you are in it for the enjoyment too (you love to read and you love to talk about books, and this is pretty obvious or your blog won’t have a long and happy life. If you don’t enjoy blogging, free books or not, it is the same in the end!). And mantanining a successful blog (and we can discuss on the meaning of “successful” too, but maybe not now) is a lot of work, so yes the books are free because you don’t pay them with money, but since you put some efforts into sharing the love (and again, it is true that the reader does not owe a review, and sometimes you just don’t have a review to write because maybe the book was good but it wasn’t special and you don’t know what to write (and this is one of the reasons I love recap posts so much, you get to share at least a bit of love for the books you can’t, for a reason or another, review!) but, as you said, reviews kept the books coming (to put is shortly)) so it is quite wrong, at least to me, to say with a negative meaning “that we are here for the free books” because yes, we are here for the free books (maybe we are there mostly for them, maybe we are there for other reasons but they don’t hurt, and all the nuances in between, it is not a yes/no situation) and we don’t pay with money but we pay back in visibility and publicity. So they are free, but they are not. And obviously we are talking about a hobby, but if we manage to help each other out is a win win situation, right?
    All I wanted to say with this very long comment (sorry about that!!) is that to me the whole discussion, on the negative part, doesn’t really make sense!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really appreciate your comment Suzy, thanks so much! And you’re absolutely right, we are doing a ton of free work, and if we’re hoping (not even demanding, just hoping) to get free books now and then in return for the publicity we do, that’s not a terrible thing at all!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a great perspective! I’ve always side eyed those bloggers who put down other bloggers for wanting to go after ARCs. I mean really? We all love books and love to read, so it’s safe to say you wouldn’t be blogging of you didn’t love those things. I personally buy lots of books each year, because no one gets every ARC they want. I probably spend $1 – 2K each year on books, but yes, I can afford it. I would also add that I like to see my hard work pay off when a publicist sees that hard work and offers me a book. It’s a measure of success in our world, I think😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When a publicist approaches you, it can be *so* validating. And like, you can say that you’re blogging just for yourself, but let’s be real, you wouldn’t put it on the internet unless you wanted other people to read it. You WANT to be acknowledged. ARCS are a part of that validation, let alone being a financial way to support something you love.

      Like

  5. I came into the blogging world almost accidentally but I didn’t have any clue that arcs were a thing until I saw some booktube videos.. but I will never deny that I love my arcs (even if they are just netgalley ones and I’ve never gotten physical ones from publishers) and I love being able to keep up with new releases and be involved in discussions with bloggers around me who all have such love for reading.

    Love your post Caitlin. I always despair when some criticize bloggers for chasing after arcs or for asking to be paid. Everyone has their reasons to be here and I think it would be so nice if everyone could remember that ultimately we are all here because we love stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! Nobody is getting rich book blogging, we are here because we love to read. And you’ve made a point I didn’t have time to get to (I was already running so long) that half the time, I’m reading eARCs that don’t have cover art or sometimes even have formatting issues. I’m not even guaranteed a *good* ARC, copy let alone a beautiful, fully finished physical copy. Are you really going to attack someone who is grateful they got to read the book in any condition at all, simply because they wanted it to be free?

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Such a great post about something that people really don’t like to talk about. I think it’s important to note that getting ARCs (whether you call it compensation or not) is still a world of difference from getting paid for reviews. But also worth noting that getting a free book puts the reviewer in the position of having to be open and honest about it so people can evaluate if the review is fair or biased.

    Anyway I bet most of us early on had a secret desire to get arcs from blogging and posting reviews. We just need to be honest about it. I agree it helps the budget a lot. And like you I’ve also had that realization I can wait and buy something instead of requesting or receiving a review copy which frees me up to mood read something else.

    Great thoughts as always!

    Like

    1. We all want ARCs, whether its because of the validation that our blog is being “seen” and “valued” or because it’s going to save us 20 bucks. And that financial consideration helps the publisher on occasion – I’ve definitely taken a chance on ARCs that I wouldn’t have if I had to pay, because it was free and therefore wouldn’t be a “waste” if I didn’t like it. Some haven’t worked out, but some I have LOVED (and then squealed about all over social media). ARCs are a complicated mess in so many ways, but this angle in particular has been bugging me for a while. Thanks for your thoughts Jason!

      Like

  7. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with wanting free books and, as you say, it can be very financially helpful for people who read a lot but can’t buy a lot of books or don’t have access to a library. I think the stigma really comes from bloggers who are the “I ONLY read ARCs type” or who seem entitled or who seem to like collecting ARCs for the sake of having them, without ever reading the books or putting thought into whether they are getting the types of books they even like reading.

    I do think bloggers don’t generally get a ton of ARCs, however, especially these days as most of the physical ones seem to go to Booktube, Bookstagram, Booktok, etc. I hardly consider access to a Netgalley ebook “compensation” myself. So if someone is getting into blogging purely because they do have the impression they’re going to get dozens of free physical books a year, they . . . probably won’t.

    Like

    1. True, bloggers don’t get a ton of physical copies, but I know for myself that getting to read the book in any format for free (and legally) made up for the lack of hard copy (the format I prefer all things equal). Sure, it’s not equal “compensation” for the hours you put into blogging, but the way I see it, I enjoy writing and reviewing anyway, so ARCs (and the financial break they bring) are icing on the cake.

      Like

  8. This is an excellent post and an essential one to publish. I was on a virtual panel and I described how I became a bookblogger; and, part of it is the same.

    I’m glad you mentioned ARCs because, similar to you, I was reading books I owned and I borrowed from the library. ARCs help, but then you have to make sure you read and write your review(s) within a given time frame.

    I might have to write a post about burnout because I believe I’m still suffering from it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There seems to be a bit of burn out going around! And I do think part of it was you say, some of the stress that comes with wanting to review books in a timely manner. I know I’m under no obligation to, but I always feel bad when I miss the release date!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. This is such a fantastic post! And quite a necessary one too. I very much appreciate how nuanced you are with your approach. Like, yes there is effort involved in being a blogger, but if you’re aware of the work it will take, and you know it won’t be an instantaneous process, why not start a blog to get some free books? I have always loved books, whether I purchased them or they’re gifted to me, so why would I miss out on the opportunity to start a hobby that could get me even more access to books, and for free no less!

    In fact, back when I started my blog with my friend, our end goal was to be able to go to BEA (which is no longer around) that way we could get all the good ARCs. We knew it would take time and effort, but guess what? I’m still blogging even though that’s no longer an achievable goal. Because it’s something I love. But at the same time, I love the fact that I’m now friendly enough with publishers to get e-ARCs and sometimes even print ARCs of the books I’m most anticipating! I’m providing free marketing for these publishers on a daily basis, the very least I can get is a book or two a month for free in return!

    And that’s all without mentioning the cost of books! I actually kept track of how much I spent on books last year, and oh wow, was it a big number. And I purchased less than 60 books! But I’m now imagining how much greater that number would have been if I hadn’t had access to ARCs as a way to minimize the amount of books I needed to purchase in order to read them!

    Anyways, all my rambling aside, I think this is an amazing post with such a wonderful perspective and I’m so glad you wrote it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your own nuanced comment! And it sounds like you have some similarities: Yes, you wanted to go to BEA, but you wanted to go because you love books! So if you’re willing to put in the effort so you can go, nobody should pick at it as “the wrong reasons.”

      And yes, those book purchases really add up! I hadn’t even done the math on what I was really saving until I wrote this post. I figured it was a few hundred dollars and my eyes popped when I saw how much higher the ballpark was. I’m sure glad I didn’t spend that out of my own budget, even as I start buying more books on my own!

      Thanks again for stopping by and sharing your thoughts, I enjoyed reading them!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. This is such a wonderfully honest post. I actually started mine for similar reasons; I couldn’t afford to buy books (and still can’t afford to buy more than maybe one a month LOL). And in the time since, I’ve found so many favorite books I never would have picked up if it weren’t for blogging, and met so many amazing bloggers! I don’t think it’s a bad thing to want ARCS, or to start blogging for them, because blogging isn’t easy at all and if you don’t have a passion for it, you aren’t going to continue. Or at least, that’s how I see it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s the main point I keep coming back to in my head! It is so much work, that the only reason to do it in the name of free books is because you CARE ABOUT BOOKS. Otherwise you’d probably stop doing it after a month or two.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I love this post. You’re perfectly described me. I am pleased to discover you were an avid reader of ARCs.

    Being a student with less money to buy books. I found “free” books a blessing for me and as long as I and the author are happy, nobody else’s opinion matters.

    I would appreciate if you can check out my blog and give suggestions. My blog became two years last week and I am grateful for the journey so far.

    Let me know what you think I can do to improve. I am open to learning.

    Thank you.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑