Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2020

After reading eight (EIGHT!!) books last month, the pendulum has swung in the other direction, and I’m closing out July having only finished three books.  That’s partially to blame on my Great Series Read Project, which put a sizable read on my list for month (more on that below).  The trade-off is that I’m going to be a tad behind on reviews, likely for the rest of the summer, and will hopefully catch-up in September.  But I did spend the early weeks of the month posting reviews for several books I read in June, so here’s still plenty here to entertain you!  August is going to be crazy busy, since a number of the ARCs I have to catch up on are all quite thick (500+ pages).  Thankfully I’ve also got some YA in there to balance it out!

Great Series Read Update

This was a relatively quiet month for reading because I made good on a big summer commitment: I’m finally reading OATHBRINGER.  It’s always hard to make room for 1200 page books, but like last summer, I finally bit the bullet and tossed everything aside for this behemoth!  This has been the biggest Great Series Read goal, given how big the books are, and I’m so proud I’m all caught up!  Until RHYTHM OF WAR that is….

And while I won’t be listing it on my GSR page, I read the latest DRESDEN FILES book!  BATTLE GROUND comes out in September and you can bet that will be in my TBR.

Reviews/Books Read

EDGEDANCER by Brandon Sanderson – 3.5/5 Stars
UNRAVEL THE DUSK by Elizabeth Lim – 3.5/5 Stars
CHARMCASTER by Sebastien de Castell – 4/5 Stars
THE CROW RIDER by Kalyn Josephson – 4/5 Stars
VOICE OF WAR by Zack Argyle – 3.5/5 Stars
ASHES OF THE SUN by Django Wexler – 4/5 Stars
PEACE TALKS by Jim Butcher – 4/5 Stars

Notable Posts

First Impression: THE UNBROKEN by C.L. Clark
Most Anticipated SFF Book Releases: August 2020
Top Five Tuesday: Women Authors on My Adult SFF TBR
Top Five Tuesday: Women Authors on My Young Adult SFF TBR
Things I Love: Rediscovering SKYRIM

And that’s a wrap on July!

 

8 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: July 2020

Add yours

  1. I still read 8 books last month but that’s slow for me (I average 12). Good job on finishing a few books though, that’s still progress! And Oathbringer is a tome so you could probably count that as three books at least. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Three books is still really good, especially considering how stressful the world is right now. Wishing you luck with all those ARCs. I have quite a few to get to as well, but might do a series of mini-reviews for them to take some of the pressure off. Hope you have an enjoyable August!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑